Case Study

Highspeed into the future

x Developing sustainable business models
x Establishing efficient processes
x Doing business sustainably

Tags Customer Experience | Industry 4.0 | New business models | SAP
Reading time

Flexibility, smooth operations and sustainability are at the heart of Ligenium’s customer promise, an innovative manufacturer of load carriers made from renewable raw material. Leading automotive manufacturers use the customized load carriers to transport components such as engine hoods and brake discs without damage. With a forward-looking Asset-as-a-Service model, Ligenium plans to revolutionize both the customer experience and their business - together we realized their vision.

Evolution in a nutshell

The idea is that a car manufacturer will no longer buy the load carriers in the future, but will rent them as a pay-per-use model. An investment in 500 load carriers turns into a trip for a few euros per piece. There are significant benefits for Ligenium's customers as a result .

Objective partner
01 The challenge

Rethinking: From product manufacturer to logistics service provider


In the past, customers saw Ligenium as a manufacturer, selling its product - this has now changed fundamentally. From CapEx to OpEx. From dealer to service provider.

However, in order to switch from a product-oriented business model to a service model, the course needs to be set in many directions. On the one hand, it requires the entrepreneurial will to realize the idea - and on the other, the an in-depth understanding of the processes, the industry and the business.

02 The solution

Wake up: From load carriers to smart assets


At the heart of the new business model is a user-friendly portal that allows customer and manufacturer to monitor and track load carriers. The portal must be supplied with the necessary data from the SAP system in real time - but where does this data come from?

Using sensors that detect whether a load carrier is being loaded with a hood or is in the process of being emptied, we transform the wooden component holder of the transport rack into an intelligent information carrier - SmartWood. From now on, each individual load carrier can recognize whether it is in use or empty and where exactly it is. Equipping the load carriers with sensors provides the basis for a digital twin that enables comprehensive monitoring.

With the development of the digital twin, connection of the sensor technology and integration of the service into an SAP system and 100% cloud-based, we brought the vision of Ligenium to life - and customers and manufacturers benefit in many ways from the newly gained transparency.

03 The added value

Roll off: In a smart industry to an even smarter pioneer


The asset-as-a-service model strengthened Ligenium's already innovative position in the market while pushing the company to the future on the fast track - with a strong, competitive business model that combines several advantages:

 

  1. Contemporary customer experience strengthens customer loyalty
    The pay-per-use model, as well as the ease of use of the service via an intuitive platform, meets the customer expectations of our time and outpaces traditional B2B business models.
  2. Transition from CapEx to OpEx makes it easier for customers to get started
    Since there is no longer a need for large, capital-forming investments in a product, the customer's decision in favor of the Ligenium brand is easier.
  3. Transparent data view creates optimization potential
    By evaluating the usage data, customers can optimize their own planning/usage of load carriers. Ligenium, on the other hand, can use the data to develop new service ideas and optimize its own processes.
  4. Digital, cloud-based architecture remains flexible for the future
    The business model remains scalable and open to extensions at all times - both the customer and the manufacturer can flexibly adjust capacity to meet demand.
  5. Realizing sustainable management
    Transparent asset tracking can realize ambitions that save resources: Predictive Maintenance as well as the pursuit of a CO2-neutral strategy.

»Moving from vision to action is the critical threshold for companies. Therefore, when we develop asset-as-a-service models with a customer, we also develop 3 horizons: Short-term, mid-term and long-term. The goal is to achieve an MVP quickly to evaluate it afterwards and optimally scale it.«

Objective partner

More article

Event

Road to Transformation –
Vorteile und Neuerungen im FI/CO

13. September 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

Case Study

Concur new horizons with intelligent data use

x Unlock revenue sources
x Develop sustainable business models
x Reduce costs

Data-driven company | New business models | SAP

Case Study

When data creates high-speed added value

x Reduce costs
x Create intelligent processes
x Quickly become an MVP

Data-driven company | SAP

Event

Visions of Industry 4.0 – Sustainability

15. September 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

Industry 4.0

Case Study
| Ligenium | Asset-as-a-Service

Auf dem Überholgleis in die Zukunft

x Zukunftsfähige Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln
x Effiziente Prozesse etablieren
x Nachhaltig wirtschaften

Tags Customer Experience | Industrie 4.0 | Neue Geschäftsmodelle | SAP
Lesezeit

Flexibilität, Reibungslosigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit stehen im Zentrum des Kundenversprechens von Ligenium, einem innovativen Hersteller von Ladungsträgern aus nachwachsendem Rohstoff. Führende Automobilhersteller nutzen die maßgeschneiderten Ladungsträger, um Bauteile wie Motorhauben und Bremsscheiben schadensfrei zu transportieren. Mit einem zukunftsweisenden Asset-as-a-Service–Modell planen Ligenium sowohl die Customer Experience als auch ihr Business zu revolutionieren – gemeinsam brachten wir die Vision aufs Gleis.

Evolution in a nutshell

Die Idee ist, dass ein Automobilhersteller die Ladungsträger in Zukunft nicht mehr einkauft, sondern als pay-per-use–Model mietet. Aus einer Investition in 500 Ladungsträger wird eine Fahrt für wenige Euro pro Stück. Für die Kund:innen von Ligenium ergeben sich dadurch erhebliche Vorteile.

01 Die Herausforderung

Umdenken: Vom Produkthersteller zum Logistik–Serviceanbieter


Bisher war Ligenium in den Augen der Kund:innen ein Hersteller, der sein Produkt verkaufte – diese Sichtweise soll sich nun grundlegend ändern. Von CapEx zu OpEx. Vom Händler zum Service–Anbieter.

 

Um von diesem produktorientierten Geschäftsmodell auf ein Servicemodell umzusteigen, müssen jedoch an vielen Stellen die Weichen gestellt werden. Auf der einen Seite erfordert es den unternehmerischen Willen, die Idee ins Rollen zu bringen – und auf der anderen Seite das tiefgreifende Verständnis des Digitalisierungspartners für die Prozesse, die Branche und das Business. Beides traf in diesem Projekt produktiv aufeinander.

02 Die Lösung

Aufwecken: Aus Ladungsträgern werden intelligente Assets


Im Zentrum des neuen Geschäftsmodells steht ein nutzerfreundliches Portal, über das sowohl die Kund:innen wie auch der Herstellenden die Ladungsträger überwachen und nachverfolgen können. Das Portal muss in Echtzeit mit den nötigen Daten aus dem SAP–System gespeist werden – doch woher kommen diese Daten?

 

Durch Sensoren, die erkennen, ob ein Ladungsträger mit einer Motorhaube bestückt oder gerade entleert wird, verwandeln wir die hölzerne Bauteilaufnahme des Transportgestells in einen intelligenten Informationsträger – SmartWood. Ab jetzt kann jeder einzelne Ladungsträger erkennen, ob er in Benutzung oder im Leerlauf ist und wo genau er sich befindet. Die Ausstattung der Ladungsträger mit Sensorik liefert die Basis für einen digitalen Zwilling, der das umfassende Monitoring ermöglicht.

 

Mit der Entwicklung des digitalen Zwillings, der Anbindung der Sensorik und Integration des Services in ein SAP-System auf Basis einer 100% cloud–basierten Architektur erweckten wir die Vision von Ligenium zum Leben – und von der neu gewonnenen Transparenz profitieren Kund:innen und Herstellende in vielerlei Hinsicht.

03 Der Mehrwert

Losrollen: In einer smarten Branche zum noch smarteren Vorreiter


Das Asset-as-a-service–Modell festigte die ohnehin innovative Position von Ligenium am Markt und schickt das Unternehmen zugleich auf dem Überholgleis in die Zukunft - mit einem starken, wettbewerbsfähigen Geschäftsmodell, das gleich mehrere Vorteile in sich vereint:

  1. Zeitgemäße Customer Experience festigt Kundenbindung
    Das Pay-per-use–Modell sowie die einfache Nutzung des Services über eine intuitive Plattform entspricht den Kundenerwartungen unserer Zeit und läuft traditionellen B2B-Geschäftsmodellen den Rang ab.
  2. Übergang von CapEx zu OpEx erleichtert Kunden den Einstieg
    Da keine großen, kapitalbildenden Investitionen in ein Produkt mehr nötig sind, fällt die Entscheidung des Kunden für die Marke Ligenium leichter.
  3. Transparente Datensicht schafft Optimierungspotenziale
    Durch die Auswertung der Nutzungsdaten können die Kunden ihre eigene Planung/Nutzung von Ladungsträgern optimieren. Ligenium, auf der anderen Seite, kann auf Basis der Daten neue Service–Ideen entwickeln und die eigenen Prozesse optimieren.
  4. Digitale, cloud–basierte Architektur bleibt flexibel für die Zukunft
    Das Geschäftsmodell bleibt jederzeit skalierbar und offen für Erweiterungen – sowohl der Kunde als auch der Hersteller kann seine Kapazitäten flexibel anpassen an den Bedarf anpassen.
  5. Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften kann realisiert werden
    Durch transparente Rückverfolgung der Assets können Ambitionen realisiert werden, die Ressourcen sparen: Predictive Maintenance sowie auch die Verfolgung einer CO2-neutralen Strategie.

»Von der Vision ins Handeln zu kommen, ist für Unternehmen die entscheidende Schwelle. Wenn wir Asset-as-a-service–Modelle mit einem Kunden entwickeln, erarbeiten wir daher auch 3 Horizonte: Kurzfristig, mittelfristig und langfristig. Ziel ist es, schnell zu einem MVP zu kommen, das wir auswerten und im Optimalfall dann skalieren können.«

Michael Thron, Gründer und CEO

Weitere Artikel

Fachbeitrag

Deutsches Forschungsprojekt „CS4I“ will Klimaschutz international revolutionieren

Industrie 4.0 | Neue Geschäftsmodelle

Case Study

Ticket to fly

digitale intelligente Prozesse | Industrie 4.0 | SAP

Event

Road to Transformation – Fiori statt GUI?

17. Mai 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

SAP