Case Study

Play it smart: Always one step ahead with big data

x Reduce complexity
x Save resources
x Increase security

Tags Data-driven company | SAP
Reading time

With over 75,000 seats, the Allianz Arena faces enormous logistical challenges on match days. Even the smallest incidents in the operating process, such as accidents in the parking garage, can quickly turn into major problems. And that’s what happens, when hundreds of cars are blocking the highway, driving into the parking garage behind one another. How do you prevent these small problems from growing into big ones while significantly simplifying your own processes?

Evolution in a nutshell

01 The challenge

The goal: A comprehensive optimization of all match day processes


FC Bayern München AG was looking to not only increase security on match days, but also to create a comfortable fan experience for everyone. Through intelligent reporting and forecasting, possible problems should be detected before they occur and cause disruptions during the day.

»The digital transformation at FC Bayern Munich is summarized under the project title “Digital 4.0” and affects all areas of the company. The aim is to position FC Bayern Munich internationally for future digital requirements. With objective partner we have found a partner who will support us from conception to implementation and support
of our strategy.«

Michael Fichtner
CIO FC Bayern Munich

02 The solution

Efficient alerting, reporting, and forecasting


Our team designed and developed a platform to face the challenge.
It aggregates and analyzes data from all sources in the stadium and, in the event of deviations from standard values, alerts the security staff via an app before problems occur. In addition, by integrating cash register data, business KPIs can be optimized along the value chain in the stadium.

»With the SAP Process Orchestration, we pick up the important data from the parking garage system, the access system and the cash register system, evaluate it, look for violations and transfer it to SAP S/4HANA to make it available in real time in the app.«

Michael Thron
Objective partner

With just one click, those responsible can check the capacity of the parking garage, whether a gate is blocked or how many fans are in the stadium. All values are compared with empirical data from previous matchdays to automatically trigger an alarm in the app if they fall below or exceed them significantly - a preventive approach that detects possible problems before they occur.

03 The added value

Optimizations today and for the future


Efficient alerting, reporting, and forecasting enables a significantly reduced use of resources on match days. The staff recognizes trends and developments at an early stage instead of reacting to occurring problems. We successfully optimized the economic KPIs through the establishment of a data-driven core opening future optimization possibilities, for example in merchandising.

»One of the main tasks in our IT strategy is to reduce complexity. With SAP Process Orchestration (...) we have shown that you can break new ground with a technology that has proven itself several times in-house.«

Michael Fichtner
CIO FC Bayern Munich

Play it Smart - FC Bayern München
Play it Smart - FC Bayern München
Play Video about Play it Smart - FC Bayern München

More article

Case Study

Forging the future with IoT

x Reduce downtime
x Simplify complexity
x Establish efficient processes

Industry 4.0 | Process optimization | SAP

Case Study

Ticket to fly

digital intelligent processes | Industry 4.0 | SAP

Event

Innovation Circle – Let’s Talk Real Estate

25. May 2022

Event

Servitization: Goodbye Product, Hello Service –
Servitization im Maschinenbau

31. August 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

New business models

Case Study
| FC Bayern | Connected Stadium

Play it smart: Mit Big Data immer einen Schritt voraus

x Komplexität reduzieren
x Ressourcen sparen
x Sicherheit erhöhen

Tags Datengetriebenes Unternehmen | SAP
Lesezeit

Mit über 75.000 Plätzen steht die Allianz Arena an Spieltagen vor enormen logistischen Herausforderungen. Selbst kleinste Störungen im Betriebsablauf, wie etwa Auffahrunfälle im Parkhaus, können sich dabei schnell zu großen Problemen entwickeln. Nämlich genau dann, wenn sich hunderte einfahrende Autos in wenigen Minuten bis auf die Autobahn stauen. Wie verhindert man, dass diese kleinen Probleme zu großen heranwachsen und vereinfacht dabei die eigenen Abläufe signifikant?

Evolution in a nutshell

01 Die Challenge

Das Ziel: Eine umfassende Optimierung aller Spieltagsprozesse


Die FC Bayern München AG suchte nach einer Möglichkeit, nicht nur die Sicherheit an Spieltagen zu erhöhen, sondern auch das Fan-Erlebnis für alle komfortabel zu gestalten. Über ein intelligentes Reporting und Forecasting sollen mögliche Probleme erkannt werden bevor diese eintreten und Störungen im Spieltagsablauf verursachen.

»Die digitale Transformation beim FC Bayern München wird unter dem Projekttitel „Digital 4.0” zusammengefasst und betrifft alle Bereiche des Unternehmens. Ziel ist es, den FC Bayern München für die zukünftigen digitalen Anforderungen international aufzustellen. Mit objective partner haben wir einen Partner gefunden, der uns von der Konzeption über die Umsetzung bis zur Betreuung bei unserer Strategie unterstützt.«

Michael Fichtner
CIO FC Bayern München

02 Die Lösung

Effizientes Alerting, Reporting und Forecasting


Für die Aufgabe konzipierte und entwickelte unser Team eine Plattform,
welche Daten aus sämtlichen Quellen im Stadion aggregiert, analysiert und bei Abweichungen von Normwerten das Security-Personal bereits vor Eintreten von Störungen über eine App alarmiert. Darüber hinaus können durch die Integration von Kassendaten betriebswirtschaftliche KPIs entlang der Wertschöpfungskette im Stadion optimiert werden.

»Mit der SAP Process Orchestration greifen wir die wichtigen Daten aus dem Parkhaussystem, dem Zugangssystem und dem Kassensystem ab, werten sie aus, achten auf Verstöße und überführen sie in SAP HANA, um sie dort in Echtzeit in der App zur Verfügung zu stellen.«

Michael Thron
objective partner

Mit einem Klick wissen die Verantwortlichen, wie voll die Parkhäuser sind, ob eine Parkhausschranke blockiert oder wie viele Fans im Stadion sind. Dabei werden alle Werte mit Erfahrungswerten aus vorangehenden Spieltagen verglichen, um bei einer signifikanten Unter- oder Überschreitung automatisch einen Alarm in der App auszulösen – eine präventive Herangehensweise, die mögliche Probleme erkennt, bevor diese eintreten.

03 Der Mehrwert

Optimierungen im Jetzt, Optionen für die Zukunft


Das effiziente Alerting, Reporting und Forecasting ermöglicht an den Spieltagen einen deutlich reduzierten Ressourceneinsatz. Das Personal erkennt Trends und Entwicklungen bereits frühzeitig, statt auf bereits aufgetretene Störungen zu reagieren. Die Optimierung der wirtschaftlichen KPI's ist somit durch die Etablierung eines datengetriebenen Kerns wirkungsvoll gelungen und öffnet Horizonte für weitere Optimierungen, zum Beispiel im Merchandising.

»Eine der Hauptaufgaben in unserer IT-Strategie ist es, Komplexität zu reduzieren. Mit SAP Process Orchestration (...) haben wir gezeigt, dass man auch neue Wege gehen kann mit einer Technologie, die sich mehrfach im Haus bewährt hat«

Michael Fichtner
CIO FC Bayern München

Play it Smart - FC Bayern München
Play it Smart - FC Bayern München
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Play Video about Play it Smart - FC Bayern München

Weitere Artikel

Story

Geht nicht, gibt’s nicht – coden gegen den Klimawandel

Fachbeitrag

Win–Win–Win | stärkere Kundenbeziehung als neuer Standard! Wer profitiert von Asset as a Service