Case Study

Ticket to fly

Tags digital intelligent processes | Industry 4.0 | SAP
Reading time

The Broetje Automation Group is the leading provider of automated machines and systems for large industries, including the aerospace industry. For the roll-out of SAP S/4 HANA at locations in the USA and China, our experts optimized the digital core to set up the company flexibly for the future.

Evolution in a nutshell

01 The Challenge

One system — many people, countries and processes


Digitalization is at the forefront of Brötje Automation GmbH's agenda: The company had already introduced SAP S/4HANA in Germany before our project started. With the introduction of the system in the US and Chinese subsidiaries, they wanted to optimize the head quarter's system on top.

Our SAP specialists developed a roadmap towards a process-optimized system, simplifying complexity and consolidating the companies with all their individual specifics.

»We chose an approach that leverages the efficiency of standard SAP processes while reflecting the customer's individual way of working«

Objective partner

02 The solution

The ideal balance between profitability and value


Two missions, one roadmap with a 360-degree view
We knew from the beginning that our team was on two missions: On the one hand, the international roll-out had to proceed quickly, and on the other hand, optimizations had to be made, ensuring a global integration at all times. In order to proceed with the system roll-out and the special adjustments in parallel, our team worked with the customer to develop a list of priorities. The effort and value across all departments played a major role.

»The great strength of an SAP system is its integration into all areas of the company. We therefore always consider all process optimizations end-to-end, so that every function and small process fits into the overall process.«

Objective Partner

From digital core to added value for the entire company

After creating an efficient roadmap, the mission could begin during ongoing operations. Following the principle of “Keep the Core Clean”, our team worked with SAP's Business Technology Platform (BTP) during optimization and roll-out, in addition to the SAP S/4HANA system core. This combination offers the possibility to carry out in-house developments not in the core, but on the BTP. As a result, the S/4 system remains clean, stable and future-proof, and release changes can be made with less effort.

03 The result

Clear runway for future destinations


After the optimizations were introduced, one thing quickly became obvious: Acceptance for the new system grew as processes were unified, simplified, and generally improved. The technological solution thus also facilitated corporate consolidation on a human level - but not only that: On the intelligent, solid foundation, Brötje Automation can grow as a group of companies and benefit from digital, intelligent processes and technologies in all areas of the company.
After all, optimization does not end with the introduction, but marks the starting point for an evolution in many new directions and destinations.

More article

Case Study

Play it smart: Always one step ahead with big data

x Reduce complexity
x Save resources
x Increase security

Data-driven company | SAP

Event

Visions of Industry 4.0 – Servitization

24. November 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

Industrie 4.0

Event

Servitization: Goodbye Product, Hello Service –
Servitization im Maschinenbau

31. August 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

New business models

#EmployeeVoices

Our employees about objective partner

Design | Employee Voices

Case Study
| Broetje-Automation GmbH | S/4HANA Optimierung & Roll-Out

Ticket to fly

Flugzeug
Tags digitale intelligente Prozesse | Industrie 4.0 | SAP
Lesezeit

Die Broetje-Automation Gruppe ist der führende Anbieter für automatisierte Maschinen- und Anlagen für große Strukturen, unter anderem in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie. Anlässlich des Roll-Outs von S/4 HANA auf die Firmenstandorte in den USA und China optimierten unsere Expert:innen den digitalen Kern, um das Unternehmen für die Zukunft flexibel aufzustellen.

Evolution in a nutshell

01 Die Herausforderung

Ein System – viele Menschen, Länder und Prozesse


Digitalisierung steht bei der Broetje-Automation GmbH weit vorne auf der Agenda: Das Unternehmen hatte vor dem Start des gemeinsamen Projektes S/4 HANA in Deutschland bereits eingeführt. Mit der Einführung des Systems in den Tochterunternehmen in den USA und China sollte zusätzlich auch das System am Hauptsitz weiter optimiert werden.

Unsere SAP-Spezialist:innen entwickelten eine Roadmap hin zu einem prozessoptimierten System, das Komplexität vereinfachte und die Konsolidierung der Unternehmen, mit all ihren Eigenheiten, ermöglichte.

»Wir wählten einen Ansatz, der die Effizienz der SAP–Standardprozesse nutzt und gleichzeitig die individuelle Arbeitsweise des Kunden widerspiegelt.«

objective partner

02 Die Lösung

Der ideale Weg zwischen Wirtschaftlichkeit und Nutzen


Eine doppelte Roadmap mit 360-Grad-Blick
Von Beginn an war klar, dass unser Team sich in einer Doppelmission bewegte: Zum einen sollte der internationale Roll-Out zügig vorangehen, zum anderen mussten Optimierungen vorgenommen werden, deren globale Integration immer sichergestellt werden musste. Um zeitgleich mit dem Roll-Out des Systems sowie den speziellen Anpassungen Fortschritte zu machen, erarbeitete unser Team gemeinsam mit dem Kunden eine Prioritätenliste. Dabei spielten auch der Aufwand und Nutzen eine große Rolle, der über alle Abteilungen hinweg betrachtet wurde.

»Die große Stärke eines SAP–Systems ist seine Integration in alle Unternehmensbereiche. Alle Prozessoptimierungen betrachten wir daher immer End-to-End, so dass jede Funktion, jeder Teilprozess zum Gesamtprozess passt.«

objective partner

Vom digitalen Kern zum Mehrwert fürs gesamte Unternehmen
Nach Erstellung einer effizienten Roadmap konnte die Operation unter laufendem Betrieb beginnen. Gemäß dem Grundsatz “Keep the Core Clean” arbeitete unser Team bei Optimierung und Roll-Out mit dem der Business Technologie Plattform (BTP) der SAP, als Ergänzung des S/4 HANA-Systemkerns. Diese Kombination bietet die Möglichkeit, Eigenentwicklungen nicht im Core vorzunehmen, sondern in der BTP. Damit bleibt das S/4 System sauber, stabil und zukunftssicher und Releasewechsel können mit weniger Aufwand vorgenommen werden.

03 Das Ergebnis

Freie Startbahn für zukünftige Ziele


Nach Einführung der Optimierungen machte sich ein Aspekt schnell bemerkbar: Die Akzeptanz für das neue System wuchs, da die Prozesse vereinheitlicht, vereinfacht und allgemein verbessert wurden. Die technologische Lösung erleichterte somit die Unternehmenskonsolidierung auch auf menschlicher Ebene – aber nicht nur das: Auf der intelligenten, soliden Basis kann Broetje–Automation sich als Unternehmensgruppe flexibel weiterentwickeln und in allen Unternehmensbereichen von digitalen, intelligenten Prozessen und Technologien profitieren.
Denn eine Optimierung endet nicht mit der Einführung, sondern markiert den Startpunkt für eine Evolution in viele neue Richtungen und Destinationen.

Weitere Artikel

Case Study

Mit IoT die Zukunft schmieden

x Stillstand reduzieren
x Komplexität vereinfachen
x Effiziente Prozesse etablieren

Industrie 4.0 | Prozessoptimierung | SAP

Thinkspace

Das Abo–Modell für Musik ist gescheitert

16. Juni 2022

Event

Road to Transformation –
Warum überhaupt S/4HANA?

30. August 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

SAP

Event

Visions of Industry 4.0 –
On track

19. Mai 2022

10:00 – 10:45 Uhr

Industrie 4.0